The foodie gene: can a love of food be genetic? by Deepti Babu

16 Jul

I saw an article that caught my attention in the latest The Tomato food & drink magazine, a great Edmonton-based magazine about – well you guessed it.

The article, The foodie gene: can a love of food be genetic? is by Deepti Babu, a genetic counsellor (I don’t know what that is but it sounds interesting).

If our family is any indication, then her research is correct. We are definitely Related by Food.

family bd party 2

A family birthday party in the living room at our farm, ca. 1960. That’s my foodie Mom in her stylin’ skort. I am at the far left of the table. My eldest sister is centre front, my twin brother is seated on the far right and my youngest sister is in the high chair.  My youngest brother was not born yet. My twin brother seems to be the only one who the gene skipped. He actually makes fun of our “fancy” food!

I like Deepti Babu’s definition of a foodie:

To me, foodies are those that always have thoughts of food simmering in the backs (and happily, the fronts) of their minds. When a foodie’s head is cleared of all requirements, he or she returns to thoughts of food. And I don’t think a foodie has to like cooking or be a good cook. Instead, he or she might enjoy reading about food, taking photographs of it, studying it… the baseline passion for food is the same, but how one expresses it varies…Dinners growing up in the Babu family were an experience, requiring a minimum of five plates. And the prep and post-mortem analyses were all part of it. 

You can read her whole article here.

I need to go grocery shopping now – I just finished breakfast but I am thinking about what I want to make for supper.  I’ll take a trip through my garden first to see what’s ready for picking…

IMG_2574

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

2 Responses to “The foodie gene: can a love of food be genetic? by Deepti Babu”

  1. The Erratic Cook July 16, 2014 at 10:43 pm #

    It definitely runs in our family. I am so excited to be hosting a moroccan dinner this weekend. I do enjoy reading about food, looking at pictures of food, cooking food and of course eating food! Cheers!

    • Truly Scrumptious July 17, 2014 at 8:04 am #

      …and posting about food, of course. Would love to see how it turns out – have fun!

Leave a Foodie Comment

