Happy New Year Golden Pasta Sauce and Mini Banana Date Loaves

4 Jan

Happy New Year Golden Pasta Sauce and Mini Banana Date Loaves

So the holidays are over, I have an assortment of leftovers and I’m in a baking cooking (avoiding chores) kinda state of mind.

Here is what I came up with:

Roasted butternut squash, golden beet and yam pasta sauce.

It started out as a soup, but cooked up so nice and thick and had a flavor that I thought might lend itself well to pasta…Yum, I was right!

The beets were a side dish for a previous meal, they had been roasted with sage and rosemary and toasted almonds had been added.

The butternut squash was roasted with some herbs for a different soup I was going to try…but didn’t get around to it.

The yam was also a side dish to a previous meal and had simply been baked.

I pureed all these all together and added water to thin it out, so…this is a very health conscious, low fat pasta sauce for the new year!

Image

However, once again my erratic cooking tendencies have caused me to come up with a concoction that cannot be duplicated. I suggest you just experiment on your own.

Here is the finished product topped with fresh shaved parmesan.

Image

I used fettuccine because that is the kind of pasta I had on hand. You could use any type of pasta really or you could even make ravioli and use this puree as the stuffing. I wasn’t feeling quite that ambitious. I could maybe use wonton wrappers for the ravioli…maybe tomorrow.

I didn’t have any leftover fresh sage, but if I did I would have put a bit on top for that extra somethin somethin

I had also baked up some banana date mini loaves and thought it would be a nice accompaniment to the pasta and yes…yes it was!

Image

Here is the recipe for that:

Banana Date Mini Loaves

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup vanilla yogurt

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

4 mashed bananas

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup flax seed

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup chopped dates

In large bowl, whisk together sugar, yogurt, oil and eggs; stir in banana and vanilla.

In another large bowl, mix together flour, flax seed, baking powder and baking soda; stir in dates. Stir in banana mixture until combined.

Pour into 4 greased mini loaf pans. Bake in center of 350°F oven for about 45 minutes or until tester inserted in center comes out clean. Let cool in pan on rack for 15 minutes. Remove from pan; let cool on rack.

Wine:

I was dining alone and so just added a nice glass of organic apple juice.

Music:

My music selections are:

Banana Bread by the The Bad Goods

You know I couldn’t resist – just google it…or not

And

(My Music Man was out running errands and I didn’t have a chance to get a song selection from him this time.)

So I am suggesting on his behalf this Canadian artist with such a great voice and this great song.

Tall, Tall Shadow by Basia Bulat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gIhbxOlUIqc&feature=share&list=FLiixZILmKL9cVy1ldhMphyw

Until next time

The Erratic Cook

2 Responses to “Happy New Year Golden Pasta Sauce and Mini Banana Date Loaves”

  1. Truly Scrumptious January 5, 2014 at 11:52 am #

    That sounds excellent! We enjoyed the leftovers in the fridge when we were staying at your place and you were working. I was thinking that would be a great idea for a B&B – it would be a B&HYTWINF: Bed & Help Yourself to Whatever’s in the Fridge.It just needs a catchier initialism.

  2. cradics March 17, 2014 at 8:42 pm #

    How did I miss this post?!!! I must have been between e-mails at the time and sadly did not get an update 😦

    It’s great when you can use leftovers for so many creations and then make a pasta sauce that has so many possibilities! That’s my kinda cooking. Mmm, them raviolis you talked about has me salivating at the idea.

Leave a Foodie Comment

