Chicken Rice Bake

15 Nov

This has got to be one of my favourite recipes, so I had to find a small bit of time to share it. I make this recipe probably ever other week. I love it because it’s a casserole (love me some casseroles), it uses Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup (favourite soup ever!), and it’s easy with a side of scrumptious.

Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup and I go way back…to my childhood. It was one of my staple foods. I ate this stuff like it was going out of style. My Gramma Wyman used to keep her pantry stocked with the stuff. I spent A LOT of my time (summers, weekends, every ounce of time I could) at the farm; hence, the reason she had a lot of it on hand. I ate it every lunch hour with crushed Premium Plus salted crackers in my favourite mug (see below) while I watched Days of Our Lives with my Gramma. Sigh, good memories. As you can see I have a soft spot for Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup.

Cow Beach

Recently, I read the ingredients in the soup, and I caution you to NEVER EVER read the ingredients in that soup. I almost got sick right there in the grocery store. I promptly put the can down and stepped away. It only lasted a few weeks and I had to buy some because I love this recipe so much (did I mention that already?). I promised myself to never look at the ingredients on the can again and to erase it from my memory, so I could still enjoy the warm childhood memories it brings me, as well as this recipe.

On with the recipe!

1 can  Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup (has to be Campbell’s, sorry)

1 can  Water

3/4 cup Rice

1/2 tsp Chili Powder

1 tsp Chili Flakes

1 Green Pepper, chopped

1 Red Pepper, chopped

1 Small Onion, chopped

1/2 cup Corn

2 Chicken Breast, chopped into chunks

1 cup Cheddar & Mozzarella Cheese

  1. Warm oven to 400 degrees
  2. Combine the Campbell’s Cream of Chicken Soup and 1 can of water into a large casserole dish
  3. Whisk in rice
  4. Mix in chili powder and chili flakes
  5. Mix in green pepper, red pepper, onion, and corn
  6. Top with chunks of chicken breast (Note: I like my chicken in chunks because it stays moist)
  7. Top with cheddar and mozzarella cheese, and I mean add more than 1 cup if you have to, so the entire dish is covered in cheese (Note: I use a cheddar and mozzarella mixture because I love the sharp taste of cheddar and the chewy goodness of mozzarella)
  8. Bake at 400 degrees for 50 minutes

Unfortunately I didn’t take any photos during the creation because I had a hungry husband to feed and a baby to watch whilst my husband finished some paper work, but I took a final photo of it after it came out of the oven. It’s still bubbling in the photo. I should have taken a photo after I served it because it’s quite beautiful on a plate with it’s rich texture and bright colours, but again hungry means hungry.

Image

I keep forgetting to “Add Wine” to my recipes. Probably because my husband isn’t a drinker and I would be drunk ever night if I had to drink a whole bottle to myself; however, tonight I paired my dinner with a beer. This is a first! I’m not a “beer drinker”, but I sure did enjoy this beer. The beer I chose was Stiegl Radler Grapefruit Beer. Mmm, so refreshing!

Enjoy!

PS. I’m working on another delightful post for you. Stay tuned. It’s a gooder.

2 Responses to “Chicken Rice Bake”

  1. The Erratic Cook November 15, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Welcome back Crab Crakin Carly. I remember Campbell’s cream of chicken soup growing up. Yes it was my favorite too, must have something to do with the farm. Casseroles are sooo good. I will try this one thanks!

  2. Truly Scrumptious November 15, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    Don’t think about ingredients in comfort food – otherwise it’s not so comforting.- just enjoy happy food and happy memories. Nice to see Cow Beach in your post too!

Leave a Foodie Comment

