And now for something completely different – Thai Thanksgiving

14 Oct

And now for something completely different – Thai Thanksgiving

So My Music Man and I found ourselves well…by ourselves for Thanksgiving! Yep, just the two of us. No kids, no other family around, just us. Anyway, we decided to make food that was non traditional but with traditional elements. We wanted something spicy, something that we would find yummy that didn’t require taking into consideration any one else’s taste buds. So we ended up with a Thai inspired Thanksgiving. I had a couple days off that week before so I was preparing most of the food ahead of time. I had to come up with something transportable because I was packing it up and heading to My Music Man’s place for the weekend.

Here is what I came up with and if I do say so myself – very yummy!!

Menu:

Pumpkin Coconut Thai Curry Soup

Asparagus

Turkey Lemongrass Meatballs

Coconut Jasmine Rice

Thai Chicken Satay in Pumpkin Almond Butter Marinade and Sauce

Thai Pork Cabbage Rolls

All accompanied by chopped green onion, fresh cilantro, basil and mint for toppings.

Image

And for dessert

Pumpkin Pie made from scratch by My Music Man

Image

I do not have a recipe for any of this – I really was winging it – which is too bad because I’m not sure how close I could come to making it again – hmmm.

However, I will give you a general idea of what went into these dishes.

Soup:

Fresh roasted and pureed pumpkin, thai red curry paste, coconut milk, onion, garlic, ginger, chicken broth, citrus zest, fresh basil and cilantro…etc.

Meatballs:

Ground turkey, lemongrass, onion, garlic, various thai spices, citrus zest…etc.

Rice:

This one is easy and yummy – 1 cup jasmine rice, 1 cup coconut milk, 1 cup water.

Satay and sauce:

Marinade/sauce:

In a food processor mix together fresh roasted pumpkin puree, almond butter, red thai curry paste, onion, garlic, ginger, citrus zest and juice, soy sauce, fresh cilantro, basil and mint…etc. Add milk or coconut milk or broth if required to smooth it out.

Satay:

Chicken breast cut into strips and marinated in some of the sauce (use the remainder of the sauce for dipping) then skewer the chicken with red onion and red pepper chunks, bake or grill.

Cabbage rolls:

Ok, I thought I was being so clever and original with this one…apparently not! I started out with the idea of potstickers, the recipes all called for cabbage, I did not feel like shredding cabbage small enough to mix in with the pork so…I decided the pork mixture could go into the cabbage!! Pure genius right? Just google Thai cabbage rolls… Anyway here’s what I put in them and the sauce I baked them in.

Cabbage rolls:

Cabbage, ground pork, quinoa, onion, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, thai spices… etc.

Mix up pork and other ingredients, soften cabbage leaves in hot water, separate leaves add pork filling, roll up and bake in sauce for 30 – 40 minutes.

Baking sauce:

Tomato, hoisin, oyster, soy and chili garlic sauces and other sauces…etc.

Mix together, pour over rolls and bake.

Pie:

My Music Man roasted the pumpkin, added the spices, milk, eggs, etc baked it in a pie shell and it was yummy!!

Wine:

Peacock Passion Moscato an Australian white with bubbles! It went quite lovely with the spiciness of the food.

Music:

My Music Man picks:

Anything by Matt Epp

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL37ZnKe_7QnCLm1zPHSw9Q1mnCkFWiY3h

Gotta check out this local talent.

My pick:

Arlo Guthrie – Alice’s Restaurant Massacre – the very long song/story that happened at Thanksgiving – I still enjoy this story – J

http://youtu.be/5_7C0QGkiVo

Until next time

The Erratic Cook

2 Responses to “And now for something completely different – Thai Thanksgiving”

  1. Truly Scrumptious October 14, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    What a delicious looking feast! And thanks for introducing me to Matt Epp.

  2. cradics October 27, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    I finally have a little time to catch-up and read some of the recent blogs.

    OMG! This looks and sounds so delicious! I am salivating at the thought of it.

    As Chef Michael Smith says, “The best recipe is cooking without a recipe”. 🙂

Leave a Foodie Comment

