Eating more dandelions

28 May

???????????????????????????????

When The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company and I walked to the University Farm this week to pick up another dozen of Gertie’s eggs, we walked past a field of dandelions. I don’t know if it is one of their experimental crops or  just dandelions doing their abundant thing. I didn’t pick any from there because I don’t know where they’ve been but I still have a healthy crop in my own yard, so I thought I’d try another couple of recipes using dandelion blossoms this time, which are good for you too.

D2

I found some yummy looking recipes on the Eat the Weeds and Other Things Too website. The Dandelion Blossom Bread sounded lovely, so I gave it a try. You might want to have a dandelion petal extraction party, because it was rather labour intensive. For this recipe, you need to pull the petals out from the green sepals and use the petals only. I washed the flowers first because I noticed a healthy biodiversity of insects going on in and around them.  I discovered that the best way to get the petals out was to cut the blossoms in half and then scrape the petals out from each half.

???????????????????????????????

Dandelion “saffron”

I substituted buttermilk for regular milk since I figured it would help the bread to rise better. My local organic food store sells buttermilk powder which is great to have on hand since you can just mix up however much you need for a recipe.

???????????????????????????????

Dandelion Blossom Bread baking in my Westinghouse Continental oven

It makes a very pretty yellow-flecked loaf that is delicious fresh from the oven and spread with butter. The dandelion petals have a delicate sweetness to them.

???????????????????????????????

My loaf with a few green bits that made their way in.

Next I tried the Split Pea Dandelion Bud Soup.

???????????????????????????????

I didn’t have any celery on hand, so I used carrots. Not that carrots are a substitute for celery, but the Newfoundland split pea soup that I love so much always has carrots and I just think that peas and carrots belong together.

???????????????????????????????

My sister Tracy told me about adding Parmesan rinds to soup, so I added that as well as some Cheddar. I also added a bit of Sriracha Sauce, since the soup tasted a wee bit bland to me, but otherwise delicious! The cheese adds a nice richness and the dandelion buds have both the sweetness of the flowers and the bitterness of the greens.

???????????????????????????????

You can eat it chunky or smooth, and it is perfect with a couple of slices of Dandelion Blossom Bread. I still haven’t tried making the Dandelion Fritters yet, but I think I will!

D9

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

3 Responses to “Eating more dandelions”

  1. The Erratic Cook May 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    Yum!! Who knew so much could be done with what is considered a pesky weed!

  2. Garry Wyman May 29, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Marlena, here is the “‘Dandelion Jelly ” reciepe for you to try:

    Dandelion Jelly
    1 qt blossoms
    Juice of one lemon
    1 pkg pectin
    5 1/2 cup sugar
    3 drops yellow food coloring
    2 tsp orange extract

    boil blossoms in 2 qt water..for 3 min
    – strain through a jelly bag
    – measure 3 cups juice..add lemon juice & pectin
    – bring to a boil. Add sugar
    – bring to a hard boil for 2 1/2 min
    – add food coloring & orange extract
    – put in jars

    enjoy on toast

    • Truly Scrumptious May 29, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      Thanks Garry – sounds delicious! I think I might try a batch using turmeric instead of food colouring. Actually, now that I think of it, I live with the jam and jelly making man, so I will pass the recipe along to him!

Leave a Foodie Comment

