Saskatchewan liver & onions

3 Apr

I am in Eastend, Saskatchewan for a couple of weeks at the Wallace Stegner House artist’s residency. Artists gotta’ eat, so I have been cooking some basic meals (non-blog-worthy, at least so far), but I thought I would try out some of the local eateries. Today I had lunch at Jack’s Cafe. This cafe has been a family run restaurant for 93 years and the present owners are the 5th generation of the family who originally emigrated here from Greece.

007 - Copy

A fabulous mural depicting the history of the Eastend area painted by family member Angela Doulias adorns all four walls inside the cafe. A note on the mural states that she started the mural on October 8, 1997 and completed it on April 27, 1998.

018 - Copy

The restaurant had emptied out by the time I took these photos. I was a bit late for lunch because I stopped at Whitemud Clay Studio first (located on Pottery Street) and had a nice chat with potter Stephen Girard, who is also co-owner of the studio (with partner Shon Profit).

As I walked into Jack’s Cafe, I saw on the chalkboard that Beef Liver was one of the specials of the day, and memories of the delicious liver & onions that my mom used to make came flooding back to me, so I that’s what I ordered for a good fortifying lunch. I am actually a fan of liver but I don’t eat it all that often – just as a treat 🙂

019 - Copy (2)

This liver was nicely prepared – very tender, with a light breading and a generous portion of sauteed red onions. it came with a tasty slab of garlic toast and a side of the requisite fries and mixed veggies. Here’s a link to a retro recipe for liver & onions  if you are inspired to cook some up for yourself.

021

I chatted with the waiter and found out that his sister and brother-in-law are the present owners of Jack’s Cafe. He has been back and forth between Canada and Greece – his wife is still living in Greece and they are trying to deal with the struggle of running their fruit orchard and olive grove in the very difficult present day economy of Greece.

001 (2) - Copy

I did a quick sketch in Jack’s Cafe before the citizenry departed.

I will mention another noteworthy local mural that I saw yesterday. My Regina friends Jim & Virginia recommended that I make a visit to the nearby town of Frontier to see the mural in the Recreation Centre. The mural, painted by Regina artist Ingrid Kalder (mother to Connie Kalder) runs the length of the bowling alley and indoor miniature golf course. It is another amazing artwork depicting rural Saskatchewan history.

031 - Copy

Posted by Marlena Wyman

3 Responses to “Saskatchewan liver & onions”

  1. The Erratic Cook April 3, 2013 at 8:09 pm #

    I probably would have gone for Jacks clubhouse. Liver…not my thing. Anyway looks like you are experiencing the local flavours and finding very interesting places.

  2. swankola April 4, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    Fries and garlic toast? Seems a little carb heavy. Is that a scotch on the rocks? Good choice.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saskatchewan journey 2 | Urban Sketchers Edmonton - April 3, 2013

    […] It has been a family run restaurant since 1920 and has an amazing hand-painted mural that wraps around the walls of the cafe. To see photos and more story on that, check out my food blog post at  https://relatedbyfoodjustaddwine.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/saskatchewan-liver-onions/ […]

Leave a Foodie Comment

