Rockin’ Retro Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

10 Feb

I’m writing a regular food post this week instead of one from the Cabinets of Curiosities. Now that my kitchen has its fabulous mid-century appliances in place, it only seemed right to cook something from that era. Pineapple Upside-Down Cake is something that I remember my Mom making, and it was sooo good (as is everything that she makes.)

I got the recipe very appropriately from my 1950 Culinary Arts Institute Encyclopedic Cookbook. I had to substitute a couple of things but the 1950s vibe definitely remained intact. Note the usual unappetizing B&W photo.

PUDC1

I gathered all of the ingredients around my beautiful vintage Sunbeam Mixmaster:

½ c butter

1 c brown sugar

1 No. 2 can sliced pineapple

2 Tbsp large whole pecans

1 cup sifted cake flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

3 eggs, separated

1 c granulated sugar

5 Tbsp pineapple juice

PUDC2

I didn’t have a No. 2 can of sliced pineapple (or any other No. of canned sliced pineapple for that matter) so I used the real thing, which meant the slices weren’t perfectly round.

PUDC3

Melt butter in a large baking pan (I used two small ones). Spread brown sugar evenly in pan and arrange pineapple slices on sugar, filling in spaces with pecans.

Pecans would have been fantastic, but none in the house. I noticed that some other Pineapple Upside-Down Cake recipes call for maraschino cherries. I didn’t have any of those either, which is not exactly a surprise. So I substituted some of my dear friend Mojo Jojo’s Pickles & Preserves Sour (Pie) Cherries.   No artificial colours and they are so darn good they almost make me cry.

PUDC4

Sift flour, baking powder and salt together.  Beat egg yolks until light, adding sugar gradually.

PUDC5

Add pineapple juice and sifted flour.

Since I didn’t use canned pineapple, I didn’t have the canned pineapple juice either. So I substituted orange juice, which gives me an opportunity to show you my beautiful vintage Juice-O-Mat juicer! It looks like it is about to do severe damage to that poor unsuspecting orange.

PUDC6

Fold in stiffly beaten egg whites.

I used my beautiful vintage pink Sunbeam handheld Mixmaster that used to be my Mom’s.  (Yes, there is a sub-theme or two going on here.)

PUDC7

Pour batter over pineapple. Bake in moderate oven (375 degrees) 30 to 35 minutes. Turn upside down on cake plate. Serve with whipped cream if desired. (Ice cream is good too!)

PUDC8

Retro yummy!

pineapple Feb 2013

Pineapple Upside-Down Sketch.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

4 Responses to “Rockin’ Retro Pineapple Upside-Down Cake”

  1. swankola February 10, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    The next pineapple corer I see at a thrift store is yours – then you’ll have perfectly round slices. I can also help you out with the maraschino cherries – I seem to have a surfeit since King Crabby moved.

  2. The Erratic Cook February 14, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Yum!!! I remember Mom making this – I have also made this as it is one of My Music Mans favorites. Now I want some!

  3. Judy Le Sueur-Maranville November 19, 2014 at 6:32 pm #

    Hello – I noticed the pic of your Sunbeam Mixmaster… my grandmother has one just like this one and I am desperate for an owner’s manual. I can’t figure out how to get the beaters out of the machine – once they are in it… except by just pulling them out… I have been scouring the net looking for some type of manual or directions or something – and came across your pic… can you help me here? I am sorry to be a bother – my email is jllmaranville@gmail.com
    I would appreciate any info you could share with me about this mixer – and thanks!

    Judy.

    • Truly Scrumptious November 20, 2014 at 9:28 am #

      Hi Judy – My Sunbeam Mixmaster was also my grandmother’s. Unfortunately, it did not come with a manual. I just pull the beaters out too – that seems to work and it hasn’t caused any damage to my machine. Keep trying the internet – old manuals do show up from time to time!

Leave a Foodie Comment

