My New/Old Mid-Century Modern Fridge!!!

6 Feb

You may recall my post of December 12, 2012 about my new/old mid-century modern stove. Well, since then we have been on the hunt for my 1950s Dream Fridge. It was a bit tougher search than we had figured on in a way that we hadn’t considered (which I will get into soon) but here it is! Ta da!

F01

It is a beautiful 1950s Deluxe Viking with that distinctive rounded mid-century styling.

F01a

The Kijiji person who we bought it from said that it had been owned by his parents, and they obviously took good care of it.

The interior is a gorgeous pale green.

F02

The freezer door sports some spiffy two-tone styling with the same Viking ship logo that’s on the front of the fridge. The “Freezer Chest” itself is one of those wee ones, but it matters not since we have a freezer downstairs.

F03

F04

As I had mentioned in my stove post, the electric appliances of the mid-century era were actually very energy-efficient. The Viking doesn’t have automatic defrosting and it is smaller and well-insulated. Mid-century appliances were also built to last, unlike the built-in obsolescence of today’s appliances. Um, they were also very heavy, and The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company and Two-Excellent-Friends-To-Whom-I-Now-Owe-Big-Favours did the muscle work. Thanks guys – you’re swell!

An excellent design feature of this fridge is that all the shelves, including those in the door, are removable for cleaning.

F05

Now, the one snag to the fridge acquisition was the direction in which the door opens. We had originally thought left-hand opening; logical since the wall is on the right-hand side of the fridge. We looked at some Kijiji finds that were left-hand opening, but none of them would fit and here’s why: old fridges have thick doors with outside hinges. We would have been able to fit the fridge into the space just fine, but we would not have been able to open the door. Since we wanted it to be more than just something to attach fridge magnets to, we had to get one that opened on the right. One of the left-hand opening ones that we looked at was an International Harvester. That would have been a cool one too considering my farm background! International Harvester ran a lot of ads in the 1950s boasting that their fridges were “Femineered!”

F06

Speaking of fridge magnets, the new Viking is so pretty that I didn’t want to cover it with them. So I bought some galvanized sheet metal at the local hardware store for 5 bucks and cut it to fit over the kitchen table. I can’t claim this idea as my own – it is a Martha Stewart project that I found online – thanks Martha!

http://www.marthastewart.com/891934/memo-board-project#252219

I did not bother framing the magnetic memo board, but I think it looks really nice – kind of Diner. In fact it looks so nice that I didn’t want to put anything on it. But then I didn’t want to have to make something else to replace that either, or that would just go on forever.

F07

F08

So here’s how the kitchen is looking now – pretty fab, right? (But now I think I need to paint the stark-white modern dishwasher the same colour as the cabinets so it’s not so obvious…hmmm.)

F09

F10

Our cat Sally likes to go on top of the fridge. Here she is on the old/old 1980s almond-coloured  note-covered Admiral.

F11

And here she is on the new/old Viking. She had no problem adapting to her new perch. She just has to be careful around the edges so she doesn’t slip off.

F12

I am quite kitchen-contented now. I think I may have finished acquiring new/old things for a while. Although this mid-century modern iPod for the kitchen is pretty happenin’…

F13

P.S See those bowls on the counter? We have them.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

3 Responses to “My New/Old Mid-Century Modern Fridge!!!”

  1. swankola February 7, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    I need that stereo cart (or should I say mono cart since I only see one speaker?).

    • Truly Scrumptious February 7, 2013 at 8:49 am #

      Yes, you do. You could even wheel it into the bathroom to listen to your latest vinyl finds whilst in the shower!

  2. The Erratic Cook February 7, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    Nice!! your kitchen is looking great! I’m glad that Sally can still perch, she will adjust to a more central spot.

Leave a Foodie Comment

