Luscious Lemon Scones with White Chocolate Drizzle

12 Jan

Luscious Lemon Scones with White Chocolate Drizzle
IMG_1607

A few years ago my friend Kim and I worked together at my store. Kim discovered a Tea House down the street that made these scones…we indulged on a regular basis, until the Tea House unfortunately closed down. Meanwhile, I had put out an ad for part time help at the store and as good luck would have it, the lovely new recruit was a pastry chef by trade and just happened to be the baker of the very same scones we had been enjoying. So of course I hit her up for the recipe! She provided me with the ingredients and a good guideline for me to try. I made a few attempts, made a few adjustments and have been making them successfully ever since. Thank you Janie!
Here it is:
Lemon Scones
Preheat oven to 350
2 ½ cups flour
¼ cup butter
¼ cup sunflower oil
½ tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
¼ cup sugar
Rind of one lemon
Cut all these ingredients together.
IMG_1600

Then mix together the following and add to the above mixture.
1 cup buttermilk
Juice of one lemon
1 egg
IMG_1601

Blend all together gently – do not over mix
IMG_1602

Scoop large spoonfuls onto baking sheet or two – this will make 12 large scones.
IMG_1603

Bake at 350 for 15 to 20 minutes until starting to brown.
IMG_1604

While scones are baking – melt one square of white chocolate with a bit of butter

When the scones come out of the oven drizzle with the chocolate and serve up.
IMG_1606
This morning I enjoyed mine with a nice juicy blood orange and steaming black cup of Jo! This would make Agent Cooper from Twin Peaks proud – Damn fine cup of coffee – although he preferred pie, I may have won him over with these scones…
images[11]

Wine choice – Champagne and orange juice

Music choices:

My Music Man’s pick
The Dudes (a Calgary band)– Dropkick Queen of the Weekend

My music pick:

Scones by The Bad Goods.
I couldn’t find a you tube for this one but it is worth a listen.
So
Use this link then go to their music page and find the song Scones.
http://www.myspace.com/badgoodsmusic

One Response to “Luscious Lemon Scones with White Chocolate Drizzle”

  1. Truly Scrumptious January 13, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    Yum! I’ve eaten your wonderful scones and can vouch for their fabulousness. I think you need to bake us some more when come for our visit!

Leave a Foodie Comment

