Slowcooker Newfoundland Split Pea Soup

1 Jan

A year and a half ago, Troy and I had the opportunity to to travel to Newfoundland to visit with my aunt Marlena “Truly Scrumptious” and The-Man-Whom-I-Keep-Company. They were there visiting for a few months themselves, so we decided to join them for part of the adventure. It was a fantastic trip, one of the best Troy and I have had together to date, and we were able to experience some fantastic food! One of my favourites was a split pea soup we had at a small restaurant called 1st Venture Restaurant in Trepassey, NL. Best pea soup ever!

1st Venture Restaurant, Trepassey, NL

1st Venture Restaurant, Trepassey, NL

Yellow split pea soup at 1st Venture Restaurant, Trepassey, NL

Yellow split pea soup at 1st Venture Restaurant, Trepassey, NL

Good job mother nature - our after dinner treat, near Trepassey, NL

Good job mother nature – our after dinner treat, near Trepassey, NL

Later that year I was craving pea soup and I had a ham bone left over from a previous dinner, so I posted a facebook status asking if anyone knew of a good pea soup recipe. None other than Truly Scrumptious would answer my question. She gave me a traditional Newfoundland Split Pea Soup recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand (because it’s that easy), but I did not have two key ingredients to this recipe to make it a traditional Newfoundland Split Pea Soup recipe and that is yellow split peas and salted beef. Well, forget trying to find salted beef on the prairies (seems a bit odd though), and I could not find yellow split peas for the life of me. Green would have to do for my first kick at the can. Regardless, it was delicious pea soup.

A year later, I finally found yellow split peas and Troy’s sister gave me a ham bone from 2012 Christmas dinner, so I decided to make it again.

 

2 cups yellow split peas, dried

1 ham bone with some meat on it (or salted beef, if you can find it)

2 carrots, diced

1 onion, diced

½ tsp pepper

1 tsp parsley

½ tsp thyme

6 cups chicken broth (add more/less if needed)

2 celery sticks, diced (optional)

2 potatoes, cubed (optional)

  1. Add all ingredients into a slow cooker
  2. Cook on low for 8 – 10 hours

2012-12-31-001

2012-12-31-002

3 Responses to “Slowcooker Newfoundland Split Pea Soup”

  1. The Erratic Cook January 2, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    I’m not usually a fan of pea soup…however, this one looks yummy. I will try, thanks. What a beautiful picture of the sky, wow.

    • cradics January 2, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

      You know I was surprised to learn how many people don’t like pea soup. I don’t know why, but it was surprising.

      Maybe you will like this because it has “yellow” peas in it 😉

  2. Truly Scrumptious January 2, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane! That was a great time, and fabulous soup in Trepassey. Split pea is probably my favorite soup, so I’m with you on wondering why other people don’t like it. Yours looks delicious and makes me want some right now! Maybe there are more Newfoundlanders in Edmonton, because I have seen the buckets-o-salt beef here. I could bring you some if you like, but I think that ham is an excellent substitute.

Leave a Foodie Comment

