Curious food #15: A Bevy of Beverages

16 Dec

‘Tis the season for festive beverages, and I have three from my Cabinet of Food Curiosities.

B1

I picked up the beer-sized bottle of Vino Tinto La Fuerza Sparkling Wine made by Vinicola Del Norte of Puerto Plata when I was on an art retreat in the Dominican Republic in 2005. I was drawn to the bizarre yet alluring illustration of the strong guy on the label (“fuerza” translates to “strength”).  Not the kind of label that you see in most of our wine stores.

My son’s girlfriend Heather gave me the bottle of a very new collectible: Karl Lagerfeld Limited Edition Coca-Cola Light. It looks very festive and sparkly.  Apparently Karl Lagerfeld drinks 10 cans of Diet Coke per day and nothing else.

I actually like Karl Lagerfeld’s fashion design, but I think Karl may have had an 11 Coke day with Lady Gaga on this one.

B2

However, I do like the look of the waiters who served the Special Edition at the launch in 2011.

B2

My son Nik gave me the bottle of Three Stooges Beer which was brewed in the early 2000’s by the now defunct Panther Brewing Co. Ebay tells me it is now a collector’s item. I’m not a particularly big fan of The Three Stooges myself, so I had to go online to do some fact-finding from quotes on the beer bottle label. Stooges fans probably already know this stuff. I have to say that I just could not watch these shorts all the way through, but feel free to fill your boots!

Panther Brewing Co. was featured in the Three Stooges short “Three Little Beers”:

“We all put the yeast in” is from the short “Beer Barrel Polecats”:

“For Duty and Humanity” is from the short “Men in Black” (No, not the movie that you are thinking of. The Three Stooges had the name first):

And while we are on the topic of festive beverages, here is a trio of cute Christmas carolers that my cousin Lee made for me out of beer cans.

B3

Remember, keep yourself and everyone in your path safe this holiday season; if you’re drinking, don’t be driving.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious 

2 Responses to “Curious food #15: A Bevy of Beverages”

  1. The Erratic Cook December 20, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    So how do you resist sampling these items? Especially the “strong man” wine, I am curious as to what strong wine tastes like. Do you carefully open them, consume the contents, and fill them up with water, replace the caps and put them back? Like a kid sneaking liquor from their parents.

  2. Truly Scrumptious December 20, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    I actually have zero problem resisting the contents of the Cabinet of Food Curiosities. Most of them make me feel a bit queasy just looking at them. But if you want to sample some Strong Man Wine, let’s plan a trip to the Dominican Republic! February would be nice. Maybe we could get a food blog sponsor to pay our way and we could write posts while we’re there.

Leave a Foodie Comment

