My New/Old Mid-Century Modern Kitchen Stove!!!

12 Dec

01 new old stove

I am excited beyond what would be considered reasonable about my fabulous new old stove! May I introduce to you my mid-century modern Westinghouse Continental!

02 Westinghouse Continental

I had been thinking lately that I would like my kitchen appliances to better suit my mid-century kitchen. When I get an idea like this in my head, I usually detect the here-we-go-again look on the face of The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company. However, he came around pretty quickly with this one and was totally on board with the idea. So I started checking Kijiji ads and found a few beauts, but they were either too big or too small. Then one day My Stove, which was quite different from the other ones that I had been looking at, made a Kijiji appearance! A few very reasonable $$ later, some manly moving assistance from The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company & a couple of good friends and family, and we were proud owners! The seller’s mother had originally purchased it and had taken very good care of it over the years. It works better than a charm. Allow me to introduce you to its many merits.

03 cooktop in

The cook top has two burners with a very slim, space-saving profile, which is important in my tiny kitchen. However, should you require four burners, you simply pull out the sliding cook top, and voila!

04 cooktop out

It came complete with the original manual, which points out, among other fab features, the Magic Mirror Oven Door and Oven Light: light on, see in; light off, neat as a pin. The fact that the oven door is pretty much all window really helps too. ( Neat as a pin mode in the above photo; See in mode two photos down.)

05 manual

The oven door opens from the side rather than the bottom and it is at a comfortable height for moving large heavy foodstuffs (such as festive turkeys) in and out of the oven, unlike the usual low ovens with the door that opens from the bottom, placing you in an excellent back-destroying posture.

06 oven door closed

07 oven door open

My oven baked a perfect loaf of Jacques Pepin’s No-Knead One-Pot bread.

08 one pot bread

Here is Jacques – the bread recipe starts at about 2:00.

My stove also has a nifty space to park your tea kettle or whatever, and has a light that is a friendly beacon in the night.

09 night

Under the cook top is a handy built-in cupboard with pull-out storage. I know! Can it get any better? As you can see in the first photo, I painted the stove cupboard to match my kitchen cupboards.

10 cupboard

But that’s not all! In my online research, I found that these types of stoves, which were originally designed in the late 1950s, were the all the rage through to the 1970s. This design of this stove is not only practical but also glamorous. President Kennedy and the First Lady had a similar one at the White House in the early 1960s. Here it is on display at the JFK Presidential Library and Museum in Boston, Massachusetts. The cook top for this one pushes in all the way so that the burners are not visible when closed.

11 JFK Museum Boston

Another model was featured on the Bewitched TV show set in the mid 1960s. This one is Hollywood sized and the oven door opens at the top.

12 Bewitched kitchen

Elvis had a similar Hollywood sized one in his Graceland kitchen. The cook top also pushes all the way in on this one, and as you can see, he had another cook top on the counter. I guess he always wanted to be prepared to fry up a whole heap o’ peanut butter and banana sandwiches at a moment’s notice.

13 Graceland kitchen

On a side note, my research revealed that, contrary to popular thought, the electric appliances of the mid-century era were very energy-efficient on several fronts: for one thing they are not self-cleaning or frost-free and don’t have things like ice-cube and water dispensers; also electricity was expensive then so the appliances were energy-efficient and tended to be smaller (except for Hollywood) and mid-century appliances were built to last, unlike the built-in obsolescence of today.

So goodbye almond 1980s stove – you served me well. Anyone into retro 1980s decor? Say the word and it could be yours!

14 old old stove

Now the search is on for my dream 1950s fridge! If anyone’s parents, grandparents, etc. has one they want to give or sell to a good home (preferably in the greater Edmonton area) let me know!

15 Dream Fridge

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

8 Responses to “My New/Old Mid-Century Modern Kitchen Stove!!!”

  1. swankola December 12, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Get rid of it immediately! It’s totally the wrong era for the rest of your kitchen. I’ll be over tomorrow morning to help you move it to my house (the new old one, not the old old one).

    Seriously, congrats on finding such a stellar appliance. So do you want to be called Jackie or Samantha?

    What I love best is the handwritten script they used for “Continental” – very chic.

    Is that a sketch of you in front of the fridge? If so, you look totally glam in your yellow heels.

    PS Loaves of homemade bread make excellent hostess gifts 🙂

    • Truly Scrumptious December 13, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Thank you for your comments! (Most of them anyway.) That is the Dream Me in front of the Dream Fridge. Neither of which exist right now, and I think that the fridge has a much better chance.

  2. The Erratic Cook December 20, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I am looking forward to visiting and sampling the yummy treats you will make with this very cool stove.

  3. Cindy Rothenbach Jacuk December 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Where did you find this? My parents have the exact same unit and it finally died on Christmas night. They would love to replace it with the exact same model, or find one that can be used for parts. It was suspected that the thermostat was the issue.

    • Truly Scrumptious December 27, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      Oh no! I don’t like to hear about these beauties dying. We got ours through a private sale on the Alberta Kijiji site. But if you go to your local appliance repair shop, they will have all kinds of suggestions/contacts for getting discontinued appliance parts. Good luck!

    • Kimberly Hair Howard September 26, 2016 at 12:03 pm #

      Hi there. I’m responding to a very old comment. We have this exact model in our kitchen and are planning to retire it. It came with our home purchase in 2013, and it’s original to the house (built in 1963). We just replaced the baking element. Our only issue is the oven light does not work- the pressure switch shorted out in 2013 and we haven’t had it repaired. We would love to find a new home for it. Please let me know if you or someone you know is interested.

      • Marlena Wyman September 26, 2016 at 1:52 pm #

        Hi Kimberly – Sounds like another excellent stove! Our stove is still working great and we have a backup model. You could try posting on Retro Renovation http://retrorenovation.com/. There’s bound to be someone there who would love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My New/Old Mid-Century Modern Fridge!!! « - February 6, 2013

    […] may recall my post of December 12, 2012 about my new/old mid-century modern stove. Well, since then we have been on the hunt for my 1950s […]

Leave a Foodie Comment

