For the Love of Kale Chips

9 Dec

A few years ago I was invited to a weekend workshop on healthy eating and all I took away from that weekend was how to make Kale Chips. I have since made them countless times and they are a huge hit with everyone including young kids and dogs.

Image

Needed:

Huge Bunch of Kale (curly Kale seems to work best)

Olive Oil 2 Tsp. (though I use the Jamie Oliver Rule of 2 glugs).

Salt & Pepper to taste.

Steps:

  1. Wash the Kale really well and make sure it is very dry.
  2. Tear the Kale off the stems into good size pieces.
  3. Toss Kale pieces into a bowl and toss with Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper.
  4. Take coated pieces and cover cookie sheet – do not overlap that much. Image
  5. Cook for 8-10min at 350 degrees.
  6. Serve in bowl.
  7. Optional shaved parmesan cheese.

Since we have a local Fest of Kale…feel free to pair with your favourite Ale. Mine is Naramata Nut Brown Ale by Cannery Brewing.

5 Responses to “For the Love of Kale Chips”

  1. Truly Scrumptious December 9, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Hey Christina – welcome aboard! Glad to see a post by you. Kale Chips are a huge hit with Aunts too. I remember you making them when I was out there in the spring. They are very addictive (thank goodness they are healthy!) and I love the crispy texture. Yum!

    • Christina M. Stevens December 9, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      Yep, I decided to finally get one up before the end of this year. I think my focus will be on veggies…or the side dish (a side affair). Hoping to get Mom on there soon as well.

  2. The Erratic Cook December 10, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    Yum. I will be trying this out and offering it to the kids. They want chips, I’ll give em chips!

  3. cradics December 10, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    I’ve heard these are a specialty of yours. Can’t wait to try them!

    Welcome aboard my lovely cousin.

  4. swankola December 15, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Even disguising it as potato chips isn’t going to get me to like kale.

Leave a Foodie Comment

