Curious food #14: Tube O’ Ketchup and Mayo

9 Dec

KM1

A friend brought back this tube of Thomy Ketchup and Mayonnaise for me from Germany. I didn’t know that ketchup and mayonnaise were such a team in Germany. I kind of think of them as condiments for separate situations. Rot Weiss translates to Red White. I daresn’t open the tube. It would probably be brown and browner rather than red and white. However, the ever fertile internet provided me with a photograph of some squeezed out Ketchup and Mayo words.

T

The tube made me think of Stripe toothpaste, and what comes out of it also looks like Stripe toothpaste. Apparently squeezing out letters is something that one feels compelled to do when one has a tube of stripey stuff.

KM3

I know that there are other striped toothpastes out there, but I’m pretty sure that Stripe was the first one to do it in the 1960s. Here is the diagram to show how that particular patented magic happens.

KM4

Since we have veered over to the category of toiletries, I will share a mouth hygiene item from my Cabinet of Toiletry Oddities. I picked up this box of Monkey Brand Black Tooth Powder at a store in Little India in Edmonton. The Nogi Company has been making this tooth powder since 1911, so it must be popular. Since it was not hermetically sealed, I opened it and poured a little bit out. It is definitely black, as you can see, and it smells rather nasty too. It claims to whiten teeth. I don’t see how that could work since it’s black, but I will just chalk that up to another mystery of the universe. The ingredients are a mix of Ayurvedic essential oils (Pundinah ka Phool, Ajwan ka Phool, Lavang ka Phool, Kapur, Saurashtri, Haritaki, Nilgiri ka Tel, Sangjira) and Wood Charcoal, so you could just whip some up for yourself if you don’t want to buy the monkey brand. But the monkey is cute. Maybe he’ll help you brush your teeth – he’s holding a cute little box of it in his cute little hand.

KM5

So go ahead and have some fries with ketchup and mayo, but don’t forget to carry out  dental cleanliness afterward!

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

3 Responses to “Curious food #14: Tube O’ Ketchup and Mayo”

  1. swankola December 9, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    I also thought of Stripe toothpaste.

  2. The Erratic Cook December 10, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    I generally don’t use mayo and ketchup together although the stripey effect is quite nice. If the black stuff is good enough for that cute little monkeys teeth…why not give it a try?!

    • Truly Scrumptious December 10, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      Apparently it is a good, non-chemical tooth whitener. I have a whole bottle full if you want to try some. Pictures of you or your Music Man trying it would be nice.

Leave a Foodie Comment

