Creative Christmas Cookies

30 Nov

Crab Crakin Carly suggested I post this one.

I am going to start right off with The Recipe

It is from The Canadian Living Christmas Book

SUGAR AND SPICE COOKIES

½ cup softened butter

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

½ tsp vanilla

1 ¾ cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp nutmeg

Pinch ground cloves

In bowl, beat together butter and sugar until smooth; beat in egg and vanilla. Stir together flour, baking powder, spices; gradually stir into batter until blended. Gather dough into ball; wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour or up to 3 days.

On lightly floured surface, roll out dough to 1/8 inch thickness. Cut into desired shapes. Transfer to parchment paper-lined, lightly greased baking sheets.

My Music Man cookie baking 2009

Bake in 350 F degree oven for 10-12 minutes or until edges just begin to brown. Remove to racks immediately and let cool. (Cookies can be stored in airtight containers for up to 2 weeks) They can also be frozen.

Makes about 50 cookies.

That is the recipe straight from The Canadian Living Christmas Book.

Ok, so all that being said and don’t get me wrong, I love Canadian Living recipes because they truly do test them and they are always good recipes….but you know that I changed the recipe – just a little. I usually double it because I don’t know what size cookies they are making but we don’t get 50. I also reduce the amount of sugar (with the icing that goes on top of these suckers you don’t need a cup of sugar in them) I also add more of the spices and added ginger and cardamom. I bake them on my Stoneware pans – of course I do. You probably know by now that I use those pans for everything that goes in the oven!

What goes on top? Icky sticky oh so sweet…

ICING PAINT

In bowl whisk together 4 cups of icing sugar and 1/3 cup water – yep that is it! You may have to add more sugar or water to make it paintable. This mixture can dry out if left open to the air too long so keep the icing covered with damp cloths as necessary.

Divide into as many small bowls as you want colors – add food coloring. Get out the sprinkles and any other candy embellishments you want.

Get some clean paint brushes and paint away! I say clean paint brushes because usually this time of year we also paint Christmas tree ornaments – sometimes we go from painting cookies to painting ornaments – you can see how this may go terribly wrong – paint does not improve the flavor of a cookie and icing does not work well on an ornament.

We have found that a gathering of kids to do the decorating works really well – if you like creative art and lots and lots of icing!!! I love the creative results and as for the sugar…well its only once a year so why not!

This has become tradition, as you can see from these pictures from 2009, 2010, and 2011. We will be painting our 2012 cookies (and ornaments) soon!

 kids n cookies 2009 

evil snowman of 2009

Evil Snowman of 2009

cookie collection 2009

cookie collection 2009

kids n cookies 2010

 Notice that the Reindeer peed on the snowman. Hurricane Haley’s creation.
2011 cookies
2011 cookies
I couldn’t find a picture of the kids painting the cookies last year. Maybe they were all in a sugar induced coma. Or moving so fast after the sugar rush they were a blur before my eyes. They were there … here is the proof!
My Music Mans creation
My Music Man then took the cookie creations the kids made and turned it into this masterpiece!! I love the creative people in my life.

Enjoy your own cookie painting fest.

and

 Merry Christmas 

Wine : Absolutely! But resist dunking your cookie in it.

Yes, I recommend you and your sweety have a glass or two while the kids create (and eat) these Christmas Cookies. However, just know, that you too will want to join in and create your own cookie masterpiece, if the kids let you. 

Music:

Because it is Christmas time I am going to recommend the entire album

almost a full moon -by Hawksley Workman.

Here is one song from the album called 3 generation – (I love it)

http://youtu.be/e8mh_9SyyNs

(Oops I didn’t consult My Music Man – but I think he would agree.)

Until next time

The Erratic Cook

2 Responses to “Creative Christmas Cookies”

  1. Truly Scrumptious November 30, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    I love Haley’s reindeer and snowman! That girl’s got talent and irreverence – a dangerous combination. I was in on last year’s cookie decorating – tons o’fun!

  2. cradics November 30, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Thank you for posting this! My mouth is now salivating. I feel like going to make some of these right now.

    I would have to agree that I do not know what kind of cookies the Canadian Living people are making either because I also did not get 50 cookies out of my batch last year. I also discovered that I will need to make uber amounts of cookies this year (and hide them) because my husband eats them like they are going to expire within the first day.

    I wish I had children I could hire to decorate the cookies. It’s usually just Troy and I trying to decorate cookies and we get nowhere because he eats them as he decorates.

Leave a Foodie Comment

