Curious food #12: Telephone Brand Fleaseed Husk!

25 Nov

OK, I doctored this one up a bit and superimposed the Fleaseed Husk! box onto a Bollywood film poster.

It was the exclamation mark that made me do it! This is apparently very exciting fleaseed husk! It has even won awards! Here is a photo of “The Various Awards bagged by SIPCO & SHAKTI” from the Ministry of Commerce, Govt. of India!

In case you are wondering about the antique telephone trademark, as did I, the Sat-Isabgol factory of Sidhpur, India which was established in 1937, provides the following explanation on their website:

Since its inception, the company is in processing & packaging of this wonder natural product … under the brand name of B.G.Telephone Brand Sat-Isabgol in the market at a time when the concept of consumer product selling was not really born in India. The brand name “Telephone” was chosen by the company for the very reason that universally telephone is known as this word itself “Telephone”.

There, that should clear things up.

Speaking of telephones, I have always liked the rotary phone. An article by James Morris that I read a while back in The Wilson Quarterly  sums it up nicely:

The weighty rotary models ­of the 1950s and ’60s, the high-­watermark of phone ­design, commanded respect. They knew their corded place on desks and bedside tables. They didn’t come with you; you went to them. Drop one on a foot, and you risked a toe. But the old phones did their job. Their designers had calibrated a comfortable distance between earpiece and mouthpiece. Rotary dials could be rushed forward, but they took their own imperial AT&T time to retract. While waiting, you gathered your ­thoughts.

The whole telephone thing just reminded me of the Rotary Phone song that my son Nik and his friend Stu wrote and performed as part of their play at the Edmonton Fringe.  My 13 year-old nephew Bryce also has a thing for rotary phones – hmmm related by food and phones.

But I digress. We are speaking of food, and with that comes digestion. Fleaseed Husk! is also known as the equally exciting Psyllium Husk! as you can see on the back of the package. Psyllium husks! are exciting because they help keep you regular.

In case you are not familiar with this product, the seeds and their husks come from the plant Plantago, otherwise known as Plantain, which a lot of gardeners consider a weed (no, not the banana plantain). It’s in my lawn and I just let it grow because I consider anything green in my lawn to be a bonus.

The reason that they are also called Fleaseed is because the seed husks kind of look like fleas.

I wish you a week (and many more) of good digestive health.  And call someone who you haven’t talked to in a while – preferably on a rotary phone.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

2 Responses to “Curious food #12: Telephone Brand Fleaseed Husk!”

  1. The Erratic Cook November 27, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Looks like fleas…well that makes it so much more appealing!

    • cradics November 30, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Mmm, itchiness.

      As for rotary phones, I too like them. Unfortunately, they were at the end of their life span when I entered this world, so I did not get to enjoy them as much as I would have liked to; however, my Grandma Bukowicki had one until she moved out of her house in the 2000s. I remember going to her house as a kid and being baffled with how to operate the phone.

Leave a Foodie Comment

