Carly’s Wicked Deviled Eggs

19 Nov

Well, I’m quite late on this post for our Canadian Thanksgiving and Halloween, but our American friends could use this for their Thanksgiving.

My deviled eggs are something to rave about (yes, I am tooting my own horn). When family gatherings occur at season holidays or just for a regular ol’ gathering, I’m always asked to bring deviled eggs. I think it’s because of my “special” ingredient, or maybe it’s because I whip-the-shit out of my egg mixture. No one likes lumpy egg mixture.

I’m a bit of an egg connoisseur and have perfected my craft over the years. With that being said, for my deviled egg recipe you are more than welcome to use whatever way you have perfected to make hard boiled eggs because I realize there are many ways to make them.

Now, there are a few tips I should mention beforehand:

– It’s ok if your boiled egg yolks are a little on the gray-ish side. No one is going to notice that you didn’t make the “perfect” hard boiled egg (except for me because I’m a perfectionist and yes I will judge you) because you will mix it into some other ingredients. Plus, we don’t want the yolks to be marigold-yellow or too yolkie because it makes them harder to peel.

– Make sure to take your time when peeling. By that I mean, make sure the eggs are cooled down enough to peel. When they are still hot or warm it’s harder to separate the membrane from the shell; not to mention, you will burn your fingers.

– Make it fun! I love to make my eggs to suite whatever occasion we are celebrating. If you have any ideas for Christmas please submit them! So far, I think I can pull off making holly deviled eggs.

Hard Boiled Eggs

12 eggs, large

1. Bring eggs to room temperature

2. Boil a large pot (a pot big enough to hold 12 eggs) of water

3. Reduce heat to medium-low, so that the water is slightly (and I mean slightly) bubbling

4.  Place eggs gently into water

5. Cook for 3 minutes per egg; 12 eggs x 3 minutes/egg = 36 minutes

6. Remove eggs into a bowl of cold water

Now the key to peeling boiled eggs is to peel them when they are slightly cold; hence, putting them in cold water after boiled. For the best peeling results, I usually boil my eggs the day before and leave them in a bowl of cold water in the fridge.

Peeling Boiled Eggs

I once Googled different ways to peel hard boiled eggs and came upon a site, which I now cannot find to share with you, on a variety of different ways to peel hard boiled eggs. I thought the most unique way was to blow the egg out.  Yes, blow the egg out of the shell. This is hard to explain, so you will have to Google it yourself. It takes a few tries to perfect this technique, but once you have it, it takes no time to peel hard boiled eggs; however, I find this way a little unsanitary considering you have to use your mouth against the egg. Not sure if your guests would appreciate that. I guess what they don’t know won’t hurt them, right?

1. Fill another bowl with warm water

2. Grab an egg from the bowl of cold water, tap all sides of egg onto a hard surface to crack shell, take the cracked egg and gently roll it between your hands to separate the membrane from the egg, peel a small opening at the bottom of the egg, and place cracked egg into bowl of warm water for 1+ minutes. The water helps remove the shell.

3. Grab the cracked egg from the bowl of warm water and start to peel. The shell should unravel as one piece.

Deviled Egg Mixture

1/2 cup Miracle Whip

1/4 cup French’s Bold N’ Spicy Deli mustard **the secret ingredient, shhhh**

Note: Add more/less as needed

1. Cut egg lengthwise

2. Gut the yolk out using a small spoon

3. Place the yolk into a small bowl

4. Mix Miracle Whip and mustard into the bowl of egg yolks

5. Beat the mixture with electric beaters until smooth

6. Spoon mixture into a small Ziploc bag (or a piping bag)

Note: Picture above contains food colouring in egg mixture

7. Cut a small opening at the bottom corner of the Ziploc bag

8. Squeeze mixture into empty eggs

Halloween/Thanksgiving Deviled Eggs

To make the Halloween/Thanksgiving deviled eggs, in addition to this recipe, you will need:

1 can whole black olives (for spiders)

Orange food colouring (for pumpkins)

Green onions, chopped (for pumpkins)

3 Responses to “Carly’s Wicked Deviled Eggs”

  1. Truly Scrumptious November 19, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Those are fabulous looking Hallowe’en deviled eggs! I love deviled eggs. Have you ever noticed that if someone brings them to a party, everyone says “Mmmmm – deviled eggs!”. As for a Christmas theme, maybe there is some way you could make them look like Christmas tree ornaments by putting sparkly cake sprinkles on them. Although that might taste weird…

  2. The Erratic Cook November 21, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    Perfectly peeled eggs. Beautiful! I must learn patience! Maybe you could color them like a string of Christmas lights for Christmas theme.

  3. cradics November 30, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Thank you ladies. I will take both of your ideas into consideration for my Christmas eggs 😉

Leave a Foodie Comment

