Curious food #10: D-Zerta

12 Nov

Does anyone remember D-Zerta? I remember seeing it in my Mom’s kitchen cupboard when I was a kid, and then seeing the same package in her kitchen cupboard about 40 years later. I confiscated it for my Cabinet of Food Curiosities. I love the photo of the 1960s woman in her groovy lime-green tank top and slacks just as much now as I did when I was a kid. Colour coordination with the dessert course was important then.

D-Zerta was basically sugar-free gelatin, brought to you by JELL-O, brought to you by Kraft Foods. By “sugar-free” I mean “saccharin”, and by “saccharin” I mean “carcinogen”. And by “gelatin” I mean “a protein produced from collagen extracted from the boiled bones, connective tissues, and intestines of animals”.

Here is a TV ad for D-Zerta. These rather thin women felt they needed to have D-Zerta instead of cake.

D-Zerta also made a low-cal whipped topping. I don’t have any in my cabinet, but I’m sure that you could substitute Slag Krem.  In fact, “Would you like some Slag Krem on top of your D-Zerta?” is something that I would like to hear at a dinner party. BTW, I took advantage of our recent snow-day for this shot.

Slag Krem is a product of Serbia and Montenegro for crying out loud. How many things do you know that are/were made in Serbia and/or Montenegro?

Have a happy sugar-free week! (And by “sugar-free” I mean “chemical-free”).

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

6 Responses to “Curious food #10: D-Zerta”

  1. swankola November 12, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Yes, I remember D-Zerta, but only from ads. Trust me, we never had anything low-cal in our house growing up.

  2. The Erratic Cook November 17, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    I remember that package of chemical dessert too! I also remember material in Moms sewing room that looked a lot like the orange flower power the package is sitting on.

    • Truly Scrumptious November 17, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      That groovy fabric is actually a long skirt that a relative of Michael’s wore in the 1960s. She gave it to me when I expressed my delight at seeing it in a pile of clothes that she was going to give to the thrift store. I have worn it at a couple of retro parties.

  3. cradics November 30, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    Haha, I remember this being in Gramma’s pantry too!

  4. johnbarell December 4, 2015 at 5:02 am #

    My Grandfather, L. Ray Ferguson, created D-Zerta as lead chemist for General Foods Corporation, receiving four patents for the product from 1920s through 1950s. We are justly proud of his achievement as he was.

    • Marlena Wyman December 4, 2015 at 8:54 am #

      Thanks for letting me know – that is brilliant! As a former archivist, I am interested in all things historic. Although my rather frivolous post does not reflect it, I have great respect for the extraordinary and creative minds of scientists and their contributions to our world, and I see that you have carried on the family tradition of pioneering curiosity. I hope that your grandfather’s research has been preserved in an archives (one never really stops being an archivist).

Leave a Foodie Comment

