Curious food #8: Further adventures in candy

28 Oct

I picked up this package of Skumkantarelle candy at Ikea in Edmonton. A candy, or any food for that matter, that begins with the word “Skum” seems like a bad idea. Skumkantarelle translates from Swedish to English as “Foam Chanterelle” . That doesn’t really help to make it sound any more appetizing. And why are the mushrooms bathing themselves, using scrub brushes and wearing sunglasses?  I know the Swedes like their saunas, but what does that have to do with mushrooms and candy? I am so confused.

The back of the package contains many delightful translations of “sugar confectionery”. Some of my favorites include the words “skumgodis”, “skumslik” and “morbide”. Yum – hand those over right now!

Another delightful confection is Bob Esponja, which I picked up on a trip to Mexico (the same trip as the Bimbo Bread). I watched a couple of Spanish dubbed episodes of Bob Esponja when I was there and they made about as much sense to me as SpongeBob does in Canada.

Another Mexican confection is Kranky candy. In spite of his name, Kranky seems pretty happy. Kranky candy is basically chocolate-coated corn flakes. It is made by the Ricolino company and distributed by our old friend Bimbo Bakery.

Happy skummy, spongy, kranky candy!

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

2 Responses to “Curious food #8: Further adventures in candy”

  1. swankola October 28, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I may just be an old Krank, but I think it’s the Finns that love their saunas.

    Love this series!

  2. cradics November 30, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I have tasted the Skumkantarell candy and loved it! I believe we got it at Ikea.

Leave a Foodie Comment

