Autumn Soup

27 Oct

Before I get started let me just say how great it is to have my computer back and running at a very acceptable level. I have been struggling for quite some time with a computer that was like a Zombie that had a lobotomy before its brain was eaten!! Considering this laptop is an old guy, I’m pretty sure he is going on a decade old! He has served me well. So, finally off to computer triage it went for a full brainwashing. I now have it back with its new clean and quick brain again at my service. I am promising not to gunk it up again. I am also hoping that I successfully backed up all my files and most importantly my photos! I will connect to the external hard drive I saved it all on after I’ve had a glass of wine and built up the courage.

Until then, here is my Autumn Soup Recipe/Guideline.

It was decided that Thanksgiving dinner would be at My Music Mans house. He already had a turkey and prepared the brine the day before. His house has a nice big kitchen, where we can both chop, and make a mess at the same time without bumping into each other – although that can be fun too.  Anyway, we divided and conquered the yummy menu items. This soup was one of my contributions – I actually made this at home the day before, I really like to make soups ahead of time, they just seems to taste better.
I love the color and texture of this soup. It is incredibly thick and creamy without any cream added.
 
Autumn Soup
 
Stuff you need:
Olive oil
Several carrots roughly 4 cups cut up
Small butternut squash cut up
1 onion, diced
1 large apple, peeled & chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
4 cups vegetable broth , you may need to double this
About 1 cup pumpkin (from the dessert recipe I made.) – optional
pinch of nutmeg
Salt, freshly ground black pepper, to taste

If you’ve got lots of orange, double up on the white and seasonings as well as the broth.


 
What you do:
1. Take the orange stuff – carrots and butternut squash – and put them on your trusty stoneware pan drizzle with olive oil and roast.


 
2. Take the white stuff – onion, apple, garlic, and ginger – sauté in olive oil.


 
3. In slow cooker or soup pot on the stove warm the pumpkin, 4 cups of broth, and seasonings. Once the white stuff is sautéed and is soft, add it to the pot. Then add the orange stuff once it has roasted all nice and soft. Stir it all up and simmer this until everything is nice and hot and soft enough to blend.


 
4. I used an old and trusty immersion blender – but here is where you Vitamix cooks can get excited – Truly Scrumptious and Crab Crakin Carly come to mind –  Transfer the soup into your oh so powerful  blender and blend until smooth. It is hot so make sure you are careful and the steam can escape etc etc. safety safety. The soup will be very thick and this is when you can add more broth. I simmered this lovely concoction for several hours in my slow cooker, tasting and adding a touch more seasonings, time to time.

Serving time:

Ladle hot soup into a lovely soup bowl and garnish with a dollop of sour cream or greek yogurt and a fresh herb or two on top – I used sage because it is pretty and I had some left over from the turkey dressing.

Enjoy!!

Wine – We chilled a nice, Chardonnay from Township 7. I don’t usually drink Chardonnay, I find them in general too oaky, but this one is delicious and went really nicely with our feast.

Music:

My Music Man’s picks:

Pipkins – Gimme Dat Ding

The Pipkins were not a real group – the song was recorded by producer Roger Greenaway and session singer Tony Burrows. For live appearances, The Pipkins were Davey Sands and Len Marshall.

Moby Grape – 8:05

My pick

The Arrogant Worms – Carrot Juice is Murder.

This song could apply to many of my posts – I just love to kill and cook and eat vegetables.

Until next time

The Erratic Cook

2 Responses to “Autumn Soup”

  1. Truly Scrumptious October 27, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    This looks really yummy! I think I have most of the ingredients in the my kitchen right now. Nice Hallowe’en theme going on too: Zombie computer, pumpkin orange and ghost white colours (the soup looks very nice in that white diamond shaped bowl – (or is that a square shaped bowl?), worms, murder…

    Some oldies but goodies music picks. Gimme Dat Ding is a splendid example of an earworm song (thank you very much), and speaking of worms, Arrogant Worms was/maybe still is one of The Boy’s, aka my son’s/your nephew’s, favorite bands.

    Keep on posting!

  2. cradics November 30, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    It’s funny. I made this the same week you posted it. My recipe is very close to yours. Super yummola! I brought it to work to feed my starving coworkers and they loved it. Unfortunately, my husband was not a fan. I thought it was strange for a man who loves the taste pumpkin.

Leave a Foodie Comment

