Lettuce, Wrap it up!

27 Sep

I picked out lots of colorful vegetables for this – the more color the better! Pretty things are tastier.

Ok, I know once you see this photo of everything set out in all the little bowls it may look daunting, but  really it is quite quick.

We even made this on our $29.99 BBQ while camping.

remember this beauty?

Look Camping food!! Quick and easy!!

My estimate…Fridge to table – 30 minutes.

The chopping takes some time, but it’s therapeutic! It also goes faster with a chopping buddy.

Everything has to be chopped up quite small, it all has to fit nicely on a lettuce leaf that you pick up with your hands to eat.

 Stuff

Garlic

Onion

Carrot

Broccoli

Bell peppers – any/all colors

Purple cabbage

Tomato

Cooked chicken, pork is good too.

More Stuff

Hoisin sauce

Chili garlic sauce

Lemon zest

 Even More Stuff

Peanuts and cashews

Chow mein noodles

Get a big sauté/fry pan hot with a splash of oil

Add garlic, onion, then carrots, broccoli, then peppers, cabbage and tomato

Sizzle this up, throw in the chicken

Now add the sauces and lemon zest

Keep stirring add the nuts and noodles

Take it off the heat, spoon it into individual bowls, or one big sharing bowl.

Have ready

Romaine lettuce leaves

and

Cilantro to top

Everyone scoops the yummy hot vegetable mixture onto lettuce leaves and Yum!

Hurricane Haley likes it!

The bowls I used hold about one cup each, the sauces measure about two tablespoons each.

There was only the two of us this night,… we ate a lot and had a bit leftover.

This much stuff probably should have made enough for 4 people.

Um…what can I say?!

Wine

I enjoyed a very cold white wine called White Stiletto from Ruby Blues Winery in Naramata

This awesome winery sells wine and shoes!!! Two of my favorite things.

They didn’t have my size 😦

 Music

My Music Man’s Music picks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZY_2t_dt5M

Panzerballett – Munich based quartet – German jazz and mad sax & guitars

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gc-7BHjwW1o

John Zorn – Naked City – Batman – wonderfully messed up mayhem by talented musicians.

My Music Picks this time are shoe songs –for the white and red wines at Ruby Blues Winery

So check out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-C5KHbAKpY

White Shoes – Emmylou Harris

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fJKt-DhII_4

(The Angels Wanna Wear My)Red shoes – Elvis Costello.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXTRe9ttMXw

The Red Shoes – Kate Bush

Also:

Remember the lyrics from -David Bowie – Let’s Dance – “put on your red shoes and dance the blues”

Or, look up any song by The Shoes (I picked them obviously for their name.)

Or, how about Ruby Tuesday – Rolling Stones – Ruby Blues Winery kinda named themselves after this song.

Til next time

The Erratic Cook

2 Responses to “Lettuce, Wrap it up!”

  1. cradics September 28, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    OMG, I love lettuce wraps. It’s usually the one thing I am guaranteed to order at Joey’s (aka. Joey Tomatoes). I will definitely be making this.

    Oh, and David Bowie – Let’s Dance is like the best song ever! It was actually one of the songs I had to have play at our wedding 🙂

  2. Truly Scrumptious September 28, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    What beautiful colours! Especially the purple cabbage – gorgeous! And it looks really yummy too. I will have to listen to Your Music Man’s picks when I need to wake up/increase my blood pressure. I have been feeling the need for mellow/calm lately. But you know I love Emmylou and Kate any time.

Leave a Foodie Comment

