Late Summer Bounty. Pork Tenderloin with Champagne Grape Reduction, Fresh Taber Corn, and Roasted Vegetables

16 Sep

Labour Day Weekend

I had decided on pork tenderloin for supper and planned on attempting a champagne grape reduction sauce to go with it. Should I roast them in the oven? They might turn into currents…Should I toss then in a pan with a bit of water & take it from there?… Hmmm… Should I stop eating them while I decide so I have some left to experiment with!!

These grapes are little orbs of yum! I hadn’t found them in stores for  quite some time so I have been overindulging.
Trivia Time – They are called Corinth grapes, they were nicknamed champagne grapes because apparently they resemble champagne bubbles and a famous magazine photo shows a plate of these grapes beside a champagne flute bubbling away.

These grapes do not make champagne.

So My Music Man showed up with this bounty.

This time of year is Taber corn time. Yum! So tender & juicy! This is just regular corn not even peaches & cream yet. This corn stand is the same corn stand where My Music Man helped get the corn stand man medical attention a few days before…another story, for another time. My hero. The zucchini and summer squash and bell peppers fresh from the fields of a local Hutterite colony and sold on the roadside. He also brought a jar of raspberry/saskatoon berry jam from the young hutterite girl who, when asked,  told him she didn’t know what it tasted like – her sister made it. I can vouch for the sister’s jam making ability, it is yummy! My two favorite berries.

Ok, I digress,  so back to the meal.

My Music Man got out the totally awesome pampered chef deep covered baker.

He started tossing stuff in with the pork.
He chopped and tossed:
Onion
Celery
Apple
Garlic
I sprinkled in:
Tarragon
Pepper
Basil
Steak spice
our favorite – red pepper flakes

You can grow these peppers, dry them and then chop them up and add them to everything – almost everything, I guess.

He added a bit of water threw in some wine vinegar and I topped it off with a fresh rosemary sprig. Oh & we found some undrank wine, OMG how did that happen? We threw that in too.
Then into the oven it went.

We then chopped up.
Peppers
Zucchini
Summer squash
Onion
Garlic
Scattered on another must have Pampered Chef item – the large stoneware bar pan. I have found these stoneware pans are the best for roasting vegetables. We drizzled the vegetables with olive oil, sprinkled with sea salt, pepper, tarragon, basil, rosemary, red pepper flakes, steak spice. We kept the herbs & spices consistent with what went into the pork. The vegetables then went into the oven.

Meanwhile:
I stopped eating all the grapes and decided on putting them in a pan adding water and getting them simmering.

Once they were simmering, I added some Buckwheat honey mead – made locally at Chinook Honey Farm.

I also added some balsamic vinegar and a sprig of fresh rosemary. Kept it simmering, stirring it occasionally, until the liquid reduced and a nice thick sauce remained.

Oven was at 350
The vegetables took about 1/2 hour to roast
The pork took about 45 minutes in the oven
The corn I find is best if you (husk it) put the cobs in a big pot of cold water, turn burner on high and as soon as the water starts to boil, get em out & serve them up! About 10 minutes.
My sauce took about 1/2 hour to get nice & thick
So overall, timing on this meal wasn’t too bad.

I realize now that I should probably get some nice white dinnerware, this really tasted much better than it looks in this photo.

Wine
While we cooked we sipped some mead
Then once we sat down for dinner we opened a bottle of Township 7 Merlot.

Music

My Music Mans pick – Lana Del Rey – song Blue Jeans

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-6cCmxaGoQ&feature=youtube_gdata_player

My pick – Broken Bells – High Road.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gWBG1j_flrg

and The Shins – Simple Song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RoLTPcD1S4Q

A couple of guys from The Shins are in Broken Bells, so if you like one you will probably like the other.

So until next time

Cheers!

The Erratic Cook.

2 Responses to “Late Summer Bounty. Pork Tenderloin with Champagne Grape Reduction, Fresh Taber Corn, and Roasted Vegetables”

  1. Truly Scrumptious September 16, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Wow, Labour Day was an appropriate time to cook this meal! Sounds like some work, but it looks like it would earn my “Truly Scrumptious” rating.
    Great music choices. I like Lana Del Rey’s music, but has anyone ever seen that poor girl smile?

  2. cradics September 16, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    This post has so many good things about it!
    – Delicious grapes
    – Taber corn
    – Rosemary (my favourite herb)
    – And cooking with wine! That has a family tie to it (++plus)

    I would have to go with The Shins – Simple Song on this one.

    I like how you mention that “this time of year is Taber corn time”. I wish you could tell this to the man who argued with me about Taber corn back in July. He asked me as I picking some corn, “Is this Taber corn”. I replied, “No, I’m pretty sure Taber corn isn’t ready until September-ish”. Apparently that was a rhetorical question because he then argued with me how he’s pretty sure it’s Taber corn. Le sigh!

Leave a Foodie Comment

