Curious food #2: Bimbo Bread

16 Sep

Since I mentioned Bimbo Bread in my introduction to the Truly Non-Scrumptious Cabinet of Food Curiosities, I thought that I should include it sooner than later.

In 2004, I went to Mexico with some friends and we stayed on the beautiful Isla Mujeres (Island of Women). We rented the lovely Que Barbara apartment complete with kitchen, and we went grocery shopping regularly at the local Mercado. Bimbo Bread ended up in the grocery cart one day; partly because we needed bread and mostly because of the name.

The OED defines Bimbo as “a woman, esp. A young empty-headed one”. However, in Italy, Bimbo is used as an endearment for a child:  Bambino/ Bimbo. According to Wikipedia, Grupo Bimbo is the world’s largest baking company, established in Mexico in 1945, and the word “Bimbo” doesn’t really mean anything in Spanish.

Bimbo Bread has a darling little white teddy bear as their corporate image. You can watch a whole series of great Mexican Bimbo Bread ads here: http://www.youtube.com/user/BimboOficial?feature=relchanne

Note that Bimbo is pronounced “Beembo”.

Of course, I could not preserve a loaf of Bimbo Bread in its original form.  That would only work if it were a McDonald’s burger. Take a look at the video on the Bionic Burger Museum website: http://www.bionicburger.com/

Since I only kept the package, all you get are a couple of photos of the historic packaging from the bread originally purchased by me in Mexico.  “El Poder del Trigo” translates to “The Power of Wheat” and “Pan Integral” is “Whole Wheat Bread”.  As I recall, it was pretty good in that rather soft-bread kind of way.

Here is a photo that I found on-line of an intact loaf of Bimbo bread and a Bimbo man:  http://roamingaussiemum.wordpress.com/2007/10/15/kranky-bimbos/

And here is a photo that I found on-line of a Bimbo truck. http://lagringasblogicito.blogspot.ca/2007/12/bimbo-booboo.html

‘Nuff said.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

3 Responses to “Curious food #2: Bimbo Bread”

  1. The Erratic Cook September 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    It’s just a great name.

  2. cradics September 16, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Haha, I like how the bread is in a “blonde” coloured bag. Very fitting. I joke, I joke.

  3. swankola September 28, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    I want a bimbo shirt!

Leave a Foodie Comment

