Scarlet Runner Beans Part II

15 Sep

Some of my Scarlet Runner Beans have become pretty big, so I was sitting on the deck last night shelling them, and I was totally blown away by their amazing late-season colour. More like Fuchsia Runner Beans. The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company was not home, but my neighbor Holly was on her deck with her Mom, Aunt and daughter, so I just had to run over and show them. They were suitably impressed and appreciative.

Scarlet Runner Beans are not all that easy to shell, but I found (later in the process) that if you twist them they open more easily.

Some of the beans had turned darker, so they will be dried and kept for seeds.

I have not cooked the beans in this form yet, but apparently they turn grey when cooked, and I am not ready to do that to them. Unfortunately they can’t be eaten raw (they have something that can cause a severe reaction when they are raw, but cooking removes that).  I think I will dry them and see if they retain their colour so that I can look at them in the dead of winter. They are just so darn pretty.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

4 Responses to “Scarlet Runner Beans Part II”

  1. karenhazel September 16, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Make a necklace out of them. String them before they dry. So fantastic.

    • Truly Scrumptious September 16, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

      Good idea! In fact, I think I might go and do that right now.

  2. The Erratic Cook September 16, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    They are so pretty. I may attempt to grow some next year.

  3. cradics September 16, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Ya know, I used to grow these all the time and had no clue they were edible and that colourful! Which brings me to ask why we couldn’t have used these pretty beans to learn how to do math in grade 2? Instead, teachers chose kidney beans. Common!

Leave a Foodie Comment

