Curious food #1: Dried-Up Bean Curd (With the Shape of Intestines)

9 Sep

This is one of my favorites in my Cabinet of Food Curiosities. “Dried-Up Bean Curd” is a splendid name all on its own. But add “With the Shape of Intestines”, and you have pure poetry. I found this at a grocery store in Edmonton’s Chinatown. Among so many other things, I like the colourful dancing beans on the package.

You can see the word “Food”  included at the top of the package in the above photo. One of my food rules is that if it has to reassure me by calling itself food, then it is probably isn’t (as in “cheese food”).

The words “Biology Project” are also included on the package. Again, not particularly reassuring.

It redeems itself somewhat with the charming translation for “Direction” on the back of the package.  I might be able to figure out “Pulling out” but “drying up” leaves me a bit mystified. The stir-fry directions also include “dried in oil pan” so it must be important.  And is “Besides” supposed to mean “Side dishes”? I prefer to interpret it as  “Besides, It tastes excellent…”. However, this Foodie will never discover the taste excellence of Dried-Up Bean Curd (With the Shape of Intestines). The package remains sealed: for display purposes only.

Posted by Truly Scrumptious. 

5 Responses to “Curious food #1: Dried-Up Bean Curd (With the Shape of Intestines)”

  1. cradics September 9, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I figured I would make my breakfast (or I should say brunch), sit down, and read your Sunday food curiosity. I used to do something similar with postsecret.com. Every Sunday I would make my breakfast and sit down to read the Sunday release of postsecret.com. Well I’m finding this to be a bit different because I’m suddenly not interested in eating my Cheerios anymore. I’m not quite sure reading about curious food items and eating non-curious food items go well together.

    Hehe, I’m just kidding. I have a well trained stomach after years of enduring nasty farm stories. One such story comes to mind about cows and boils. I will stop there.

    Maybe this curious food item will end up in Adrian’s Aisles? I will start my adolescent chant now, “EAT IT, EAT IT, EAT IT!”.

  2. The Erratic Cook September 9, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Hmm…maybe you and Adrians Aisles can come to an agreement. Ask him if he is willing to try some of your “curiosities” you can blog about the visual and he could comment on the um…taste.

    • Truly Scrumptious September 9, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      What?!!! And destroy the integrity and authenticity of the collection? Please someone, bring me my smelling salts…everything is going dim…I think I’m going to…

      • cradics September 16, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

        Lol, I have the solution! If we happen to find clones of your food curiosities, only then can Adrian “try” them 🙂

      • Truly Scrumptious September 16, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

        Brilliant solution! And a fun food hunting assignment for all of us. Also if you find doubles of any other weird food out there, give one to Adrian to eat/drink and one to me to add to my Cabinet.

Leave a Foodie Comment

