The Truly Non-Scrumptious Cabinet of Food Curiosities

5 Sep

My interest in food includes weird food. Some that I have eaten; some that I have not. In the not-eaten category are items that land in my Cabinet of Food Curiosities.

My collection was first housed in a small cabinet in the kitchen, but a search for a larger cabinet soon became necessary. The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company and I found a very nice and very reasonably priced antique cabinet on Kijiji, befitting the volume and noteworthy nature of the collection, and it has a place of honour in the living room.

Most of the containers of food in this cabinet have never been opened or consumed in order to maintain their authenticity as collectible food, and also to maintain my health. There are exceptions, such as the Bimbo Bread (watch for it in a future posting), which would have mutated into another life form, so I have just kept the packaging in those cases. There may be some kind of mutation going on inside of some of the cans at this very moment, but it is contained – at least for now.

My family and friends have contributed many items to the Cabinet, especially from trips to foreign lands where translations on labels are both charming and alarming.

A few weird cookbooks have made their way into the collection as well, so a recipe here and there may be featured from time to time.

I will bring you a different curious food item every Sunday (whenever possible) for your amusement and viewing pleasure.

See you Sunday!

Posted by Truly Scrumptious

2 Responses to “The Truly Non-Scrumptious Cabinet of Food Curiosities”

  1. The Erratic Cook September 7, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    I look forward to your posts about these Umm… Food items. So great that TMWWIKC was able to find such a beautiful cabinet to contain the growing collection. I remember when the collection started on a shelf in your kitchen.

  2. cradics September 8, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Haha, I see the teabags we gifted you 🙂
    I’m looking forward to Sundays now!

Leave a Foodie Comment

