Twisted Shrimp Cocktail and Cool Cubes

28 Aug

So I thought I should give everyone the recipe that graces our Blog’s front page:

Twisted Shrimp Cocktail

Until last month my sister Janice lived with me. During the almost two years we were together, we found ourselves wanting to not only cook for ourselves but to cook for some favorite people at their homes, and so jokingly said we could be caterers and our company would be called “Just Add Wine”

So it was, we actually had some people convinced that our catering company was real! One such occasion I took on the appetizer and dessert selections and Janice provided the salad and main course.

Here is what I came up with for the appetizers:

Twisted Shrimp Cocktail

 For the shrimp:

Take 20 or so raw tail on shrimp – peeled

For the marinade:

1 shooter glass of olive oil

2 cloves garlic pressed or minced

1 shooter glass of alcohol of choice – white wine, vodka or tequila work well

I used a jalapeno ice wine that my niece gave us – yummy! I must find it again.

You can always toss in a few hot chili flakes if you like a bit of heat.

Toss together – a freezer bag works well.

Marinade for about an hour – not too long in the marinade or it will start to “cook” the shrimp.

Sauté the shrimp gently, just until pink. Let them cool. Keep in fridge until ready to assemble.

PS:

This marinade is really good for shrimp on the BBQ or simply sautéed and served hot. In this case, don’t peel the shrimp first, the marinade seems to work even better, let everyone peel their own.

For the Sauce:

I did not want the typical seafood sauce so I searched and  found a variation on Food Network by  Giada De Laurentiis (Because I am The Erratic Cook and can’t follow a recipe, I used her recipe as a guideline and changed it to suit me, feel free to do the same to my recipe, I have, it changes each time I make it!)

Guideline:

½ cup plain greek yogurt or sour cream

1 to 2 tablespoons grainy mustard or a Dijon (depends on your taste and which mustard you use)

1 tablespoon real maple syrup

½  teaspoon turmeric

½ teaspoon cumin

Squeeze some fresh lemon juice in there

Add a bit of lemon zest too

Salt & pepper

Mix together sauce ingredients

This makes four generous portions.

Spoon some sauce into the bottom of four martini glasses.

Arrange the shrimp around the rim, along with twists of cucumber, lemon, green onion – whatever you think would look and taste great.

Additional garnish, a lovely fresh basil or parsley leaf is always nice.

Voila! Shrimp cocktail in a martini glass – twisted, not stirred (I couldn’t resist)

PS:

This sauce is yummy with other fish, so experiment; try it as a fish taco sauce, just add a little heat to it.

Alongside this I also served:

Cool Cubes

This is soooo easy and soooo refreshing!

All you need:

Watermelon

Feta cheese

Fresh basil

Fresh mint

Fresh Italian parsley

(Any combination of your favorite fresh herbs)

What you do:

Chop your water melon into cubes (no rind) that are big enough to hollow out a “cup” in the top.

Inside the” cup” place chunks of feta cheese and fresh herbs. Yum!

PS:

If your watermelon isn’t big enough for cubing and scooping, just slice and top with feta and herbs.

Wine:

A nice crisp and cold white wine is a nice accompaniment.

 Music:

My Music Man’s – pick of the day – listen to Alabama Shakes – this young woman has an amazing voice.

Here we are Just Add Wine crew – The Erratic Cook, My Music Man, My Daughter and My Sister

Until next time

The Erratic Cook

One Response to “Twisted Shrimp Cocktail and Cool Cubes”

  1. Truly Scrumptious August 28, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I’m so glad that you posted the recipes for these beautiful creations! There were more offerings from your “catering company” too, right? We need more of these recipes from you and Janice! And I agree with The Music Man’s choice: Alabama Shakes are fabulous. Is he going to suggest a song selection for each of your recipes?

Leave a Foodie Comment

