Rhubarb Part II: Rhubarb and Roses

29 Jul

I was hosting a family pot-luck birthday party for my Mother-in-law, and the cake was one of my contributions to the pot-luck. I decided to make rhubarb the star again, and baked this delicious and homey Lemon Buttermilk Rhubarb Bundt Cake. Instead of inserting a potted geranium in the hole (a la My Big Fat Greek Wedding) I inserted a rose from the Therese Bugnet rose bush in my garden.

This is my beloved vintage Sunbeam Mixmaster that helped me to make this cake and has helped with many other delights. I had my grandmother’s for a while, but the base broke and sadly it couldn’t be fixed. The-Man-With-Whom-I-Keep-Company found this one for me in a thrift store.

I served the cake with fresh berries and frozen yogurt. Very pretty and seasonal, and the birthday girl was very pleased.

I think I’m going to try to include a sketch with each of my posts, so here is one of the rose-bush from whence the cake decoration came.

And here is the recipe. I didn’t have any buttermilk, so I substituted yogurt. And as I often do, I substituted the appropriate amount of Stevia for the white sugar. But I kept the icing sugar for the glaze. Stevia doesn’t work so well there.

Lemon Buttermilk Rhubarb Bundt Cake

Original recipe from Rustic Fruit Desserts by Cory Schreiber and Julie Richardson

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, plus two separate tablespoons

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon fine salt

1 cup (2 sticks) of butter

1 3/4 cup granulated white sugar

Zest of two large lemons

3 eggs

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

3/4 cup buttermilk

3 cups finely sliced rhubarb

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Cream together the butter, lemon zest, vanilla, salt and sugar until light and fluffy, scraping down the sides and beater, 3-5 minutes. Then add the eggs one at a time and mix on low.

Whisk together the baking powder and 2 1/2 cups of flour, and add 1/3 of it to the butter/sugar/eggs, mixing on low until just combined. Add 1/3 of the buttermilk and continue alternating the flour mixture and buttermilk, ending with the last of the flour.

Toss the rhubarb with the remaining two Tbsp of flour. Fold the rhubarb into the batter. The batter will be thick.

Pour the batter into a greased and floured bundt pan, using a spatula to level it. Bake for 50-60 minutes. The cake should spring back gently and a toothpick should come out clean.

Cool your cake in the pan for 30 minutes, while making the glaze. Invert the cake onto a serving plate and drizzle the glaze over the cake.

Lemon Glaze

2 cups (approx) powdered/confectioners/icing sugar

Juice of one large lemon

1 Tbsp melted butter

Whisk together all ingredients until satiny-smooth, thinning with lemon juice or thickening with more powdered sugar as needed.

 

Posted by Truly Scrumptious.

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Rhubarb Part II: Rhubarb and Roses”

  1. cradics August 10, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    OMG this sounds sooo good! Hmm, since my birthday is 9 days away maybe I will make this for myself as my birthday cake 🙂

Leave a Foodie Comment

