Spring Greens with Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette

23 Jul

It’s probably about time I do a write-up about the first recipe that graced our blog.

This is my go-to-salad. My co-worker/friend, Maria, introduced me to this salad years ago. Her husband, Rob (he was her boyfriend at the time) and her, so kindly invited me over for dinner one late evening as I was leaving university. They made this salad along with lasagna, which happens to be some of the best lasagna. It’s a recipe that Rob’s Mom makes. Wish I was privy to the recipe. At least I am privy to this salad recipe, but I guess it’s not privy anymore if I’m sharing it with the world. This salad is to die for! Such flavour in the dressing and the contents of the salad are very well paired.

I often make this salad when I have people over and they all salivate over it. Trust me, it will be your go-to-salad too!

 

Yields: 8 servings Time:   15 minutes

Salad
12 cups spring greens
1/2 cup goat cheese (or feta)
3/4 cup pecans or sliced almonds
1 cup fresh strawberries, sliced
1/2 cup Craisins (optional)

Vinaigrette
1 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tsp pepper
1/2 cup olive oil

To prepare salad, place spring greens in large salad bowl and place goat cheese, pecans, strawberries, and Craisins (optional) on top.

To prepare the vinaigrette (best prepared the day before), mix together all ingredients except olive oil until well blended. Add oil in a slow, steady stream until mixed. Serve dressing on the side.

Source:            Whitewater Cookbook
Restaurant:     Fresh Tracks Café, Whitewater Ski Resort, Nelson, BC www.skiwhitewater.com

2 Responses to “Spring Greens with Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette”

  1. Truly Scrumptious July 26, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I love this salad! I remember you made it for us when we were all in Newfoundland last year. And thanks for setting up this blog – you are a most excellent niece!

  2. cradics August 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Mmm, me too! This is most definitely my go-to salad. I’ve tried different variations of it (ie. adding pine nuts instead of pecans) and it’s still soooo good.

    Aww shucks, thanks. I try 😉

Leave a Foodie Comment

